DJ Spinna’s “Sonic Smash”


DJ Spinna is one of the great producers of the underground hip hop era. He’s issued memorable recordings such as Heavy Beats Vol. 1 and the instrumental Compositions series; organized the memorable Wonder Wrote It dedication parties with Bobbito Garcia; been a part of groups such as the Jigmastas and Polyrhythm Addicts;  and even produced underground house classics such as Cooly’s Hot Box “Make Me Happy” and Shaun Escoffery’s “Days Like This.”

However, Sonic Smash is his first album since 2006’s Intergalactic Soul. Set for release June 30 via High Water Music, it features both veterans (Shabaam Sahdeeq, Kriminul of the Jigmastas, Joc Max) and new jacks (Fresh Daily, Senor Kaos, Sputnik Brown). The first single is “Lyrics is Back” with Torae; it’s included below along with the track list. (July 3 update: The release date has been pushed back to July 21.)

  • 1. “Intro” (feat. Joc Max)
  • 2. “Elemental” (feat. Sputnik Brown)
  • 3. “Lyrics is Back” (feat. Torae)
  • 4. “Lights Out!” (feat. John Robinson)
  • 5. “New York” (feat. Jigmastas)
  • 6. “Call Me Senor” (feat. Senor Kaos)
  • 7. “Get On Down” (feat. Fresh Daily, P.Casso & Homeboy Sandman)
  • 8. “Making Your Way in the World” (feat. Breezly Brewin & J-Treds)
  • 9. “Guaranteed” (feat. Phonte & Yahzarah)
  • 10. “More” (feat. Dynas)
  • 11. “More Colors” (feat. Elzhi)
  • 12. “Melody” (feat. Shabaam Sahdeeq & Erik Rico)
  • 13. “Still Golden” (feat. Tiye Phoenix)
  • 14. “Outro”

“Lyrics Is Back” (feat. Torae)

“Summer Madness” (feat. Fresh Daily & Daniel Joseph)

This entry was posted in News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.