Bisco Smith’s “The Broadcast”


Bisco “Bisc1” Smith’s new album The Broadcast has a release date of January 19, 2010. His prior material, including 2008’s modestly pleasurable When Electric Night Falls dropped via Embedded Music, but he’s releasing this one himself. No word yet on what the new label is titled.

The lead single for The Broadcast, “Morning Breath” dropped in September with an accompanying video. Producer J. Vegus makes the beats, and Bisco provides the rhymes and ill graff-inspired artwork.

Here’s a bit from the bio:

New York multimedia artist and genre-melting emcee Bisco Smith is proud to unveil his new album, The Broadcast. The album, produced entirely by frequent collaborator J.Vegus, with all art and design by Smith himself, is Bisco Smith’s fifth release and will be available January 19, 2010.

In the video for the album’s lead single “Morning Breath,” Bisco explored his belief that “in the end, no matter what path you take, personality you fit, or hustle you choose, you’re going to get to where you’re supposed to be.” It appears that Bisco is rapidly approaching where he’s supposed to be. The Broadcast finds his considerable talents still bright but increasingly focused and well crafted as well. “As an artist I believe records should reflect the reality of who I am and where I am at, and this LP feels like it has done that.”

Bisco Smith’s sound is nearly impossible to classify or squeeze into any one genre. Already a talented emcee, The Broadcast finds him pushing in new directions, incorporating down tempo, dubstep, and electronic influences. About this growth, Bisco says “I am trying to reach a broader community- writing less about hip-hop and more about human emotion and subjects that you can relate to whether you’re a hip-hop fan or not.” Critics have labeled Bisco a sort of evolutionary emcee- he exhibits a gravelly voice, deadpan delivery, and intensely vivid imagery that conjures the New York of a different era- barbed wire, power lines and ink-stained subway cars, not luxury condos and coffee shops.

With J.Vegus, Bisco has a collaborative relationship most artists spend their entire careers searching for. While the two had worked together before, it’s clear that they have reached another level of artistic synergy on this release. For the first time, Bisco went exclusively to Vegus for beats, and the results are stellar. “Working with one producer on a project was a really dope direction to go, crafting a consistent sound and forming our relationship as artists further. He has a distinct style on this one and I did my best to do the same.” Listeners will notice this consistent excellence and distinct sound from the first time they hit “play.”

Here’s the track list:

  • 1. “Tune In”
  • 2. “Morning Breath”
  • 3. “Vibrations”
  • 4. “Time Zones (247365)”
  • 5. “Railroads” (feat. Human?, Esen & Grimace)
  • 6. “Transmission Live”
  • 7. “Never Know”
  • 8. “Crooked Hearts”
  • 9. “Fresh Water”
  • 10. “Circuit Breaker”

Bisco Smith, “Morning Breath”

Bisco Smith, “Morning Breath (LeParasite Remix)”

This entry was posted in News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *