Donwill’s “Don Cusack in High Fidelity”

In 2008, all three Tanya Morgan’s MCs dropped Internet mixtapes. But this year, they’ll issue their solo efforts officially. First up is Donwill: Set for release via Interdependent Media on March 23, Don Cusack in High Fidelity features production from TM cohort Von Pea, Keelay & Zaire, Brick Beats and A-Plus from Souls of Mischief.

More via the bio:

Don Cusack In High Fidelity is Donwill’s musical representation of the movie from which it took its name. Not only is High Fidelity Donwill’s personal favorite film, but he identified with John Cusack’s character, Rob Gordon, so much that he created an entire album inspired by the movie. Donwill incorporated personal stories of falling in love, fearing commitment, hating his job, and learning life lessons, to create a clever and deeply personal musical interpretation of the film. Skillfully and artfully crafted using direct subject matter and quotes from the cult classic, the 16-track personal odyssey will resonate not only with fans of the original movie but also with anyone who has spent time trying to figure out the opposite sex. “The album is based on being in a state of perpetual pre-mid-life crisis,” says Donwill. “Nothing in life will give you all the answers, but this album will help people find some of the answers they might be looking for.”

Donwill faced unique challenges in creating his first solo record. Similarly to how lead character Rob Gordon managed the behavior of his record store employees, Donwill assumed the responsibilities of an orchestra conductor, guiding his featured guests to embody a key character from the film. Opio from Souls of Mischief assumes the role of Ian, Rob’s ex-girlfriend’s new lover while Che Grand assumes the character of one of Rob’s unruly record store employees, Barry, who was portrayed by Jack Black in the film.

“Originally, I was going to use the concept for a short EP and had made all of the beats myself,” says Donwill. “One of those beats was a clear standout, so when I decided to expand the project into a full-length, and really give the album its proper due, I brought in other producers and used their beats along with mine. It really was just figuring what beats fit together best to create a common thread for the album’s narrative.”

Here is the track listing:

  • 1. “Monologue”
  • 2. “Laura’s Song”
  • 3. “Top 5 Breakups”
  • 4. “Championship Vinyl” (feat. the Lessondary)
  • 5. “Ian’s Song” (feat. Opio)
  • 6. “Shake It Easy” (feat. Peter Hadar & DJ Low Key)
  • 7. “Love Junkie” (feat. Harlem’s Cash & Peter Hadar)
  • 8. “December 27”
  • 9. “Breathe” (feat. Nicky Guiland)
  • 10. “I See You” (feat. Ragen Fykes)
  • 11. “Good” (feat. Che Grand, Ced Hughes & Ragen Fykes)
  • 12. “Leading Lady”
  • 13. “Pussy Rules The World” (feat. Mykestro & Bad Lucc)
  • 14. “Maybe You & I”
  • 15. “Girl Girl” (feat. Kay from the Foundation & Uzoy)
  • 16. Ragen Fykes, “Hey Baby”
This entry was posted in News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.