Plug Awards honors J-Dilla, random indie-rock bands


On Saturday, Feb. 10 the Plug Independent Music Awards took place at Irving Plaza in New York City. And although the late J-Dilla, as noted before, drew a slew of nominations, he didn’t win the big one for Album of the Year. That trophy went to indie-rock favorite Band of Horses and their Everything All the Time. Meanwhile Hip-Hop Album of the Year went to Spank Rock’s Yoyoyoyoyo, and DJ Album of the Year went to Girl Talk’s Night Ripper. Seems like when it comes to awarding deserving artists, the Plug Awards are just like the Grammys.

To be fair, though, J-Dilla picked up an award for Artist of the Year and Record Producer of the Year. I didn’t actually attend the awards, but with performances from El-P, comedian/host David Cross and backpack lovers Deerhoof, I am sure it was very amusing. You can check out the list of winners below. Peace to Amaechi.


  • Album of the Year: Band Of Horses, Everything All The Time (Sub Pop)
  • New Artist of the Year: Arctic Monkeys
  • Female Artist of the Year: Neko Case
  • Male Artist of the Year: Sufjan Stevens
  • Indie Rock Album of the Year: Yo La Tengo, I Am Not Afraid Of You And I Will Beat Your Ass (Matador)
  • Metal Album of the Year: The Melvins, (A) Senile Animal (Ipecac)
  • Hip-Hop Album of the Year: Spank Rock, Yoyoyoyoyo (Big Dada)
  • Americana Album of the Year: Band Of Horses, Everything All The Time (Sub Pop)
  • Punk Album of the Year: CSS, Cansei De Ser Sexy (Sub Pop)
  • Electronic/Dance Album of the Year: Thom Yorke, The Eraser (XL)
  • DJ Album of the Year: Girl Talk, Night Ripper (Illegal Art)
  • Avant Album of the Year: Xiu Xiu, The Air Force (5RC)
  • Artist of the Year: J Dilla
  • Live Act of the Year: Broken Social Scene
  • Song of the Year: Band Of Horses, “The Funeral” (Sub Pop)
  • Record Producer of the Year: J Dilla
  • Music Video of the Year: Wolf Parade, “I’ll Believe In Anything” (Sub Pop)
  • Album Art/Packaging of the Year: Hot Chip, The Warning (Astralwerks)
  • Record Label of the Year: Sub Pop
  • Live Music Venue of the Year: Bowery Ballroom, New York, NY
  • Music Festival of the Year: South By Southwest
  • Music Website of the Year:
  • Music Blog of the Year:
  • Magazine of the Year: Paste
  • College/Non-Comm Radio Station of the Year: KEXP, Seattle, WA
  • Record Store of the Year: Amoeba Music, Hollywood, CA
  • Best Music DVD of the Year: The Pixies, loudQUIETloud: A Film About The Pixies
  • Zine of the Year: Wax Poetics
  • Specialty Show of the Year (Commercial Radio): SIRIUS Left Of Center – Blog Radio (New York, NY)
  • Podcast of the Year: Lounge Acts
  • Internet Radio Station of the Year:
  • Online Radio Station of the Year (w/terrestrial counterpart): KEXP, Seattle, WA ( / 90.3)
  • Online Record Store of the Year:

This entry was posted in News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *