Marco Polo establishes “Port Authority”

marco polo_myspace.jpg

I’m always shocked to discover artists whom, though seemingly unknown, end up being down with major artists as if they’ve been around all along. That’s sort of the case with Marco Polo. I’ve never heard of the guy, but he’s copping heat in Scratch, URB and a whole bunch of other joints. Though seemingly unknown, he’s worked behind the scenes over the past four years, producing tracks for Boot Camp Clik, Pumpkinhead, Rasco and Masta Ace.

The latter returns the favor on Marco Polo’s full-length debut, Port Authority. The disc features a bevy of underground names, including Wordsworth, Large Professor, Buckshot, AG, Sadat X, J*Davey and many others. It arrives via Soulspazm/Rawkus on May 1. You can taste the first single, “War” feat. Kardinal Offishall b/w “Hood Tales” feat. Kool G. Rap & DV Alias Khryst, through the links below.

“This album represents the last three years of my life; my big move to NY from Toronto four years ago and the musical growth I’ve gone through while finishing it,” says Marco Polo in a press release. “It represents a part of hip-hop that is slowly and undeniably withering away. This album also represents my efforts to unite dope artists and make music that has lasting power. My project is not a compilation, it’s my ‘Soul Survivor’ (Pete Rock) and Port Authority will attest to that!”

Here is the track listing:

  • 1. “Port Authority Intro” (feat. O.C.)
  • 2. “Get Busy” (feat. Copywrite)
  • 3. “Marquee” (feat. O.C.)
  • 4. “War” (feat. Kardinal Offishall)
  • 5. “Nostalgia” (feat. Masta Ace)
  • 6. “The Wrong One” (feat. Wordsworth)
  • 7. “Low Budget All Stars” (feat. Kev Brown, Kenn Starr, Oddisee, Cy Young & Kaimbr)
  • 8. “Speak Softly” (feat. Jo Jo Pellegrino)
  • 9. “Time And Place” (feat. Ed O.G.)
  • 10. “The Radar” (feat. Large Professor)
  • 11. “All My Love” (feat. Jaysaun)
  • 12. “Lay It Down” (feat. Roc Marciano of The U.N.)
  • 13. “Go Around” (feat. Buckshot)
  • 14. “Hood Tales” (feat. Kool G. Rap & DV Alias Khryst)
  • 15. “Heat” (feat. Supastition)
  • 16. “Rollin” (feat. Sadat X, AG & Ju Ju of the Beatnuts)
  • 17. “For The Future” (feat. Critically Acclaimed)
  • 18. “Relax” (feat. J*Davey)

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *