Beastie Boys bring “The Mix Up”

beastie boys_myspace.jpg

According to an article on, the Beastie Boys’ new disc is called The Mix Up. The Brooklyn trio’s seventh album will hearken back to the classic Check Yo Head-era, and utilize live instruments instead of the sample-heavy big beats of more recent works. With luck, it will be as good as Check Yo Head, which many consider the Beasties’ finest hour.

“We play instruments on the whole album, as opposed to sampling. There’s more rock on there. If you know us you can trace the influences and they’re no completely surprising. Someone who listens to us casually might think ‘What the hell are these guys doing?’,” says Mike D in the story.

In a subsequent news item on, Mike D described The Mix Up as “an instrumental album. There are no vocals, no samples. We played everything. But as different as that might be from To the 5 Boroughs, it’s equally different from instrumental songs we’ve done before, like the ones that were on The In Sound From Way Out! That was kind of one direction and this one [has] different influences, like Public Image Ltd., Gang of Four, the Slits, Killing Joke.” The Mix Up hits stores on June 26.

Here’s the track listing:

  • 1. “B For My Name”
  • 2. “14th St. Break”
  • 3. “Suco De Tangerina”
  • 4. “The Gala Event”
  • 5. “Electric Worm”
  • 6. “Freaky Hijiki”
  • 7. “Off The Grid”
  • 8. “The Rat Cage”
  • 9. “The Melee”
  • 10. “Dramastically Different”
  • 11. “The Cousin Of Death”
  • 12. “The Kangaroo Rat”

With every new recording, the Beastie Boys usually set up a number of cool happenings and side projects to create multimedia synergy. (Often the side projects are better than the albums.) So far, they’ve announced an appearance during the London leg of the Live Earth July 7 concerts around the world. They’ll appear at Wembley Stadium alongside Madonna, Red Hot Chili Peppers and Snow Patrol. So far, the only U.S. dates include the Sasquatch Festival in George, Wash.; and the Virgin Festival in Baltimore, Md.

This entry was posted in News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *