PB Wolf compiles “2K8”


2K Sports sure likes hip-hop. For the past few years, the video game company has teamed with Decon Records to organize a series of rap-themed projects and promote its latest video games. This year alone, as previously reported, 2K Sports has sponsored a DJ Z-Trip-helmed compilation, All Pro, and an upcoming tour featuring Common and Q-Tip. Now, fan favorite Stones Throw is getting involved, too.

On October 2, Stones Throw will release 2K8: B-Ball Zombie War, an album compiled by the mighty Peanut Butter Wolf himself. It will feature the usual Stones Throw cast members, from the late James “J Dilla” Yancey, MF Doom, Oh No and Madlib’s many guises (Beat Konducta, Quasimoto) to Talib Kweli and Q-Tip. Enticingly, it will also feature the official premiere of Supreme Team, a touted collaboration between Madlib and J Dilla confidante Karriem Riggins.

Stones Throw will promote its latest all-star comp with a label showcase tour featuring PB Wolf, Madlib, J-Rocc and others. Dates for the tour, which takes place at the end of the year, will be announced soon. Meanwhile Percee P, whose long-awaited debut Perseverance drops on September 25, is jumping on the 2K Sports Bounce Tour with Common. (The earlier post with those dates has been updated to reflect Percee’s involvement.)

The track listing for 2K8: B-Ball Zombie War is below.

  • 1. Supreme Team, “See (Suite)”
  • 2. MED, “Break It Down”
  • 3. Guilty Simpson, “Make It Fast”
  • 4. J Dilla feat. Q-Tip & Talib Kweli, “Lightworking”
  • 5. Percee P feat. J-Rocc, “Legendary Lyricist Pt. 2”
  • 6. J-Rocc, “Super Sound”
  • 7. Madlib, “The Wigflip”
  • 8. J Dilla feat. MF Doom & Guilty Simpson, “Mash’s Revenge”
  • 9. Oh No, “Action (Rap Version)”
  • 10. Beat Konducta, “Trouble”
  • 11. Quasimoto, “Hydrant Game (Jaylib Remix)”
  • 12. Aloe Blacc, “Find A Way”
  • 13. Dam-Funk, “Sidewayz”
  • 14. Baron Zen, “Electronic (Koushik Remix)”
  • 15. James Pants, “Ka$h (Peanut Butter Wolf Remix)”
  • 16. Niko & DJ Babu, “Now You Know”
  • 17. Koushik, “Basketball Beat”
  • 18. Arabian Prince, “Professor X Saga”
  • 19. Jonathon Brown, “Bass Creator’s Groove”
  • 20. CX Kidtronik feat. Tchaka Diallo, “Big Girl, Skinny Girl”


This entry was posted in News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *