Take issues two new EPs

Last year, West Coast hip-hop producer Take issued a much-admired debut, Earthtones & Concrete. Next month, he’ll satisfy lovers of abstract beats with two EPs.

The first, Plus Ultra EP, dropped earlier in January on Brooklyn imprint Inner Current. It pares three remixed tracks from Earthtones & Concrete by Daedelus, Domu and Ras G with four new cuts. The second, a vinyl release for Netherlands label Eat Concrete, arrives under the slightly wonkish title The Dirty Decibels of Thomas Two Thousand. It’s a nine-track effort that includes a remix by underground favorite Dimlite. The track listing for both EPs are listed below.

“Based in Los Angeles, TAKE aka Thomas Wilson is a composer who continues to push the boundaries of instrumental Hip Hop music into new directions,” reads a bio on the Eat Concrete website. “The 30 year old multi-instrumentalist/dj/producer describes his music as ‘Rooted in Hip Hop but on a space ship headed for a new and better place… somewhere out there.'”

Here’s the track listing for Plus Ultra EP:

  • 1. “Slouched Over”
  • 2. “Navigators” (A Take & Lukid Collaboration)
  • 3. “Dream Suite” (instrumental)
  • 4. “Golden Gate Reflections” (Ras G remix)
  • 5. “Bee Sting”
  • 6. “You High” (Daedelus remix)
  • 7. “Like a Drum” (A Take & Domu Collaboration)

And here’s the track listing for The Dirty Decibels of Thomas Two Thousand:

  • 1. “Intro”
  • 2. “Make Believe”
  • 3. “Lie-Twerx”
  • 4. “After Words”
  • 5. “All Around”
  • 6. “Fall in Love Again”
  • 7. “Sugar Flower”
  • 8. “Speak Low”
  • 9. “Make Believe” (Dimlite’s Unbelievable Re-Make)


This entry was posted in News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.