The Mighty Underdogs prepare “Droppin’ Science Fiction”

The Mighty Underdogs, a supergroup featuring Lateef the Truthspeaker, Gift of Gab and Headnodic from Crown City Rockers has finished its debut album. Droppin’ Science Fiction is set for an October 14 release on Definitive Jux.

Droppin’ Science Fiction doesn’t have the heavy concepts that typify Gift of Gab’s work with his better-known group, underground heroes Blackalicious. It’s something of a romp, as well as an extended showcase for Headnodic, a respected producer that hasn’t drawn much attention outside of the West Coast. Plenty of Yay Area guests chip in, including Lyrics Born and DJ Shadow (from Gab and Lateef’s Quannum crew), Raashan Ahmad from Crown City Rockers, Zion from Zion-I and Casual. The notorious MF Doom makes an appearance, too.

The three big dogs will promote their forthcoming album with an opening slot on Aesop Rock’s solo tour. Here’s the track listing, followed by them dates.

  • 1. “Monster”
  • 2. “Hands In The Air”
  • 3. “So Sad” (feat. Julian & Damian Marley)
  • 4. “Gun Fight” (feat. MF Doom)
  • 5. “ILL Vacation” (feat. Lyrics Born)
  • 6. “Science Fiction”
  • 7. “Laughing At You” (feat. Casual)
  • 8. “Escape” (feat. Mr. Lif & Akrobatik)
  • 9. “Doglude”
  • 10. “Folks”
  • 11. “UFC Remix” (feat. DJ Shadow)
  • 12. “Want You Back”
  • 13. “Aye”
  • 14. “War Walk” (feat. Chali 2na, Raashan Ahmad, Tash & Zion from Zion-I)
  • 15. “Victorious”

Here are the tour dates:

  • 8/19: Trocadero Theater, Philadelphia, PA
  • 8/20: 9:30 Club, Washington, DC
  • 8/22: McMennan’s Edgefield, Troutdale, OR
  • 8/23: Showbox Market, Seattle, WA
  • 8/24: Golden Gate Park, San Francisco, CA
  • 9/12: Glasshouse, Pomona, CA
  • 9/13: Troubadour, Los Angeles, CA
  • 9/14: Troubadour, Los Angeles, CA
  • 9/15: Troubadour, Los Angeles, CA
  • 9/17: Belly Up, San Diego, CA
  • 9/18: The Exit, Fresno, CA
  • 9/19: The Brewery, San Luis Obispo, CA

8/19-8/20, 9/12-9/19: w/Aesop Rock, Rob Sonic, DJ Big Wiz
8/19-8/20, 9/12-9/13, 9/17-9/19: w/Grayskul
8/22-8/23: w/Sound Tribe Sector 9
8/24: Outside Lands Festival
9/15: w/Busdriver

Plug One review: The Mighty Underdogs, The Prelude EP

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.