Common’s “Universal Mind Control”

Despite a few months of delays and a title change, Common still plans to release his eighth album before the end of the year. Originally called Invincible Summer, his Universal Mind Control is scheduled for a December 9 date via Geffen. posted a track listing today along with the following description:

“Punch Drunk Love” now features Kanye West spitting the catchy chorus “Am I crazy, or was you giving me the eye?” “Sex 4 Sugar,” which Common previously described as a conversation with a dancer, now has faster drums, and “Everywhere,” which was formerly called “Runaway” and set to feature Santogold, now sports a dreamy layered chorus, sans Santogold, over a guitar riff similar to Pat Benatar’s “Love Is a Battlefield.”

Common recently told that Universal Mind Control will be a party album:

“Where I am with Universal Mind Control, which is the name of the album as well as the single, I wanted to make some music people can enjoy…It’s a lot of stuff going on in the world right now. Sometimes people need to release. I felt that energy abroad, going to different parties in Spain and London, even back in the States. It was good times. I want people to have good times musically.”

  • 1. “Universal Mind Control”
  • 2. “Punch Drunk Love” (feat. Kanye West)
  • 3. “Make My Day” (feat. Cee-Lo Green)
  • 4. “Sex 4 Sugar”
  • 5. “Announcement” (feat. Pharrell Williams)
  • 6. “Gladiator”
  • 7. “Changes”
  • 8. “Inhale”
  • 9. “What a World”
  • 10. “Everywhere”

Here’s the video for “Universal Mind Control”:

This entry was posted in News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Common’s “Universal Mind Control”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.