Tanya Morgan welcomes you to “Brooklynati”


The three members of Tanya Morgan — Don Will, Ilyas and Von Pea — have tormented and teased their fans with side projects all winter, from mixtapes (Von Pea’s The Further Adventures of Von Pea, Ilyas’ The Prelude) to web videos (Don Will’s “Laura’s Song”). But rest assured that the main course, Brooklynati, is coming out very soon. It drops May 12 on Interdependent Media, and is the group’s first album in three years. Guests include Phonte Coleman, Blu, Kay from the Foundation, Peter Hadar and others.

The group has already set up an ingenious website dedicated to the “city” of Brooklynati. Check it out after reading the press release.

Highlighting the creativity and throwback sounds of the emcee trio Tanya Morgan, Brooklynati is an album, a place, and a state of mind. With Tanya Morgan providing the soundtrack, the Brooklynati project invites fans to become part of the virtual city of Brooklynati and one of the most involved and intricate marketing campaigns ever created for a hip-hop release. Hot off the success of their critically acclaimed debut album Moonlighting which received nods from ?uestlove, The Source and XXL, Tanya Morgan is stepping out of hip-hop’s shadow and moving to Brooklynati. Are you coming?

Miles away from the watered-down hype of auto-tune, the glam of Hollywood, big bank accounts, and even larger cars lays the virtual city of Brooklynati. Brooklynati, is Anytown, USA; a place where small record shops struggle to stay alive, local corner stores become impromptu gathering spots, and people enjoy city parks, attractions and performance venues regularly. Providing the soundtrack to our daily encounters, this album gives everyday people a chance to discover the things they have in common with the three members of Tanya Morgan; Ilyas, Donwill, and Von Pea. Discussing his move to Brooklynati, Donwill from Tanya Morgan says, “Brooklynati is the most real place I know”.

As part of the Brooklynati experience, fans will have the opportunity to explore the city of Brooklynati through a virtual metropolis outfitted with an extensive website, video newscasts, a zoo, mayor’s office, and even a fledgling mom and pop record store. Fans will have a chance to “move” to Brooklynati, become part of the vibrant city, get their very own Brooklynati driver’s license, and order Chinese from their favorite takeout spot. The multi-faceted multimedia campaign driving the Brooklynati experience will feature a plethora of innovative limited edition merchandise including New Era Brooklynati caps, one-of-a-kind MUNNY collectibles from THIS SIDE UP DESIGNS, Brooklynati Public Library cards which will entitle its holders to access the Library Systems files, Tanya Morgan paper toys, and city destination relics featuring the most popular spots in Brooklynati. The unveiling of the Brooklynati project will also include album release parties in 5 major cities at premiere venues.

Here’s the track listing. I’ll update it with the album’s guest appearances soon. (April 6 update: The features are added below.)

  • 1. “On Our Way”
  • 2. “Alleye Need” (feat. Piakhan)
  • 3. “So Damn Down”
  • 4. “Bang N Boogie”
  • 5. “Don’t U Holla” (feat. Jermiside)
  • 6. “Hardcore Gentlemen”
  • 7. “Plan B”
  • 8. “Intermission” (feat. Peter Hadar)
  • 9. “Without U” (feat. Phonte & Brittany Bosco)
  • 10. “Never Secondary” (feat. Jermiside, Che Grand, Elucid & Spec Boogie)
  • 11. “Just Not True”
  • 12. “Morgan Blu” (feat. Blu)
  • 13. “Never Enough” (feat. Carlitta Durand)
  • 14. “We’re Fly” (feat. Kay from the Foundation & Chop)
  • 15. “Just Arrived” (feat. Miss Info)
  • Bonus Track: “Forgot 2 Say”

Tanya Morgan, “So Damn Down” (DJ Mix)

This entry was posted in News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *