J Dilla’s “Jay Stay Paid”


A new J Dilla album, Jay Stay Paid, is set for release on June 2 via Nature Sounds. Unlike the many authorized and unauthorized Dilla releases that have appeared since his tragic 2007 death, this one is executive produced by his mother, Maureen “Ma Dukes” Yancey. Pete Rock executive produced the project. and his hero, the equally legendary Pete Rock. It features Dilla’s old collaborators (DOOM, Black Thought, Phat Kat, Frank Nitty) as well as new jacks (Blu, Diz Gibran).

Here’s more from thee press release:

Jay Stay Paid is a 25 track collection of unreleased Dilla beats mixed and arranged by Pete Rock. While mostly instrumental, “J$P” also offers a few guests vocals from artists that Dilla worked with or admired including Black Thought of The Roots, MF DOOM, and M.O.P.

Curtailing any notion of jumping on some sort of Dilla bangwagon, Jay Stay Paid was executive produced by Dilla’s mother Maureen Yancey (aka Ma Dukes) along with the musical supervision of Dilla’s only real musical idol, Pete Rock. “It wasn’t rushed and it wasn’t haphazard,” explains Ms Yancey. “This album combines what he did in the beginning of his career, what he did in some of our early hospital stays, which was very deep, and some stuff pulled from old floppy disks & DATs. Its mind blowing…this is like the missing links to Dilla’s legacy.”

The format of the album plays like a radio show with Pete Rock as the program director. With regards to Pete’s involvement, Ms. Yancey gets very excited, “Dilla wanted to pattern himself behind Pete. His dream was to become as close as possible to what Pete stood for. Pete meant everything to him. Dilla would have just been flabbergasted! ” Pete’s sentiments were the same toward Dilla, “Dude was amazing. He just kinda came outta nowhere and the more you heard his beats the better they got. He may not be here with us, but it’s all good we’re going to keep his music alive and well.”

  • 1. “KJay FM Dedication”
  • 2. “King”
  • 3. “I Told Y’all”
  • 4. “Lazer Gunne Funke”
  • 5. “In the Night (Owl N Out) – While You Slept (I Crept)”
  • 6. “Smoke” (feat. Blu)
  • 7. “Blood Sport” (feat. Lil Fame)
  • 8. “caDILLAc”
  • 9. “Expensive Whip”
  • 10. “Kaklow (Jump On It)”
  • 11. “Digi Dirt” (feat. Phat Kat)
  • 12. “Dilla Bot vs. The Hybrid” (feat. Danny Brown & Constantine)
  • 13. “Milk Money”
  • 14. “Spacecowboy vs. Bobble Head”
  • 15. “Reality Check” (feat. Black Thought)
  • 16. “On Stilts”
  • 17. “Fire Wood Drumstix” (feat. DOOM)
  • 18. “Glamour Sho75 (09)”
  • 19. “10,000 Watts”
  • 20. “9th Caller”
  • 21. “Make It Fast Megamix (Unadulterated Mix)” (feat. Diz Gibran)
  • 22. “24K Rap” (feat. Havoc from Mobb Deep & Raekwon)
  • 23. “Big City”
  • 24. “Pay Day” (feat. Frank Nitty from Frank-N-Dank)
  • 25. “See That Boy Fly” (feat. Illa J & Que D)
  • 26. “Coming Back”
  • 27. “Mythsysizer”
  • 28. “KJay and We Out”

“Reality Check” (feat. Black Thought)

This entry was posted in News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.