Kidz in the Hall’s “Land of Make Believe”

Originally scheduled for October 13, 2009, Kidz in the Hall’s third album Land of Make Believe now drops March 9 on Duck Down Records. Guests include established artists MC Lyte, Marsha Ambrosius and Just Blaze; as well as blog-buoyed upstarts Colin Munroe, the Kid Daytona, Donnis and Chip tha Ripper.

Here are a few details:

Kidz In The Hall are embarking on their next journey into the LAND OF MAKE BELIEVE. For Naledge, MC of Kidz In The Hall, he sees the project as “the moment we have worked for has come to a crossroad. We strive for success in this music industry, but we have never taken time to look ourselves in the mirror and analyze what this industry has made us. As a lyricist, I used this album to serve as a soundtrack to my aspirations and to my downfalls, but also as a chance to evaluate who I am as a man compared to whom I envisioned myself to be.”

Examining the current climate of our world today, LAND OF MAKE BELIEVE, is a timely reminder for us all to take a step back and analyze how we can strive to be better and achieve more. Double-O highlights this further by saying that “The Land of Make Believe is different things for different people. For us it is the space between where we are now as artists and where we feel we should be. It’s the idea that until you actually get to your destination or goal you have to act like you are already there.”

The first single from the album, “FLICKIN”, currently available at iTunes worldwide, is a prime example of dichotomy of imagination and reality. The title is a colloquial Chicago term. Naledge explains “Flickin'” is the idea that at any point in time something is photo-ready or picturesque. When I was younger it was used to describe a person’s car, shoes, haircut, or outfit. Any material possession with physical beauty.” “Confidence is key” Double-0 adds, “The song should make you feel good when you look in the mirror regardless of what you have on.”

Here’s the track listing:

  • 1. “Intro”
  • 2. “Traffic”
  • 3. “Flickin'”
  • 4. “Out to Lunch” (feat. The Kid Daytona)
  • 5. “Bougie Girls” (feat. Russoul)
  • 6. “Jukebox” (feat. MC Lyte)
  • 7. “L_O_V_E”
  • 8. “Will I Win” (feat. Marsha Ambrosius)
  • 9. “Take Over The World” (feat. Just Blaze & Colin Munroe)
  • 10. “Fresh Academy” (feat. Chip Tha Ripper & Donnis)
  • 11. “Simple Life” (feat. Amanda Diva)
  • 12. “Running” (feat. Tim William)
  • 13. “Do It All Again (I Am)”
  • 14. “I Am (Reprise)”
  • 15. “Rise & Shine” (feat. Russoul)
This entry was posted in News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.