Madlib’s “Beat Konducta Vol. 5-6”


On February 10, Stones Throw will release the latest chapter(s) in Madlib’s Beat Konducta saga. Unlike the prior two editions, Vols. 1 & 2 (Movie Scenes) and Vols. 3 &4 (In India), Vols. 5 & 6 doesn’t have a cinematic theme. Instead, Beat Konducta Vol. 5-6: A Tribute To… pays homage to his late musical comrade in Jaylib, James “J Dilla” Yancey.

Here’s a bit from the press release:

When Madlib followed J Dilla’s now-classic Donuts with an instrumental concept-album of his own, a series was born. “Beat Konducta,” the alias he often scribbled on the beat CDs he handed to friends and potential collaborators, left the realm of the unknown and entered the record-buying public’s conscious as Madlib’s latest nom de plume. His unedited CDs often wove quirky narratives, served as obsessive listening material to those lucky enough to hear them, and became raw working material for Madvillain, Jaylib, Ghostface, De La Soul, Talib Kweli and Erykah Badu.

The concept of the Beat Konducta series was simple: put Madlib’s raw beat tapes into album form – one by one on vinyl, with two volumes at a time appearing on sporadically released CDs. …

Beat Konducta Vol. 5-6: A Tribute to… is a 42-track piece dedicated to the late J Dilla. Madlib and J. Rocc – arguably Dilla’s closest musical compatriots during his time spent in Los Angeles – lovingly remember their friend and reflect on his boundless influence. As was the case with Donuts and in keeping with the Beat Konducta’s all-embracing musical bent, this album does not settle into one groove for too long. The result is a transfixing, sometimes jarring, and always soulful homage to the man Madlib crowned “King Of The Beats.”

Vols. 5 & 6 were issued on vinyl separately last year. This upcoming album combines both, and adds a new track, “Dil Cosby Interlude.”

  • 1. “For My Mans (Prelude)”
  • 2. “The Mystery (Dilla’s Still Here)”
  • 3. “Beat Provider (Through the Years)”
  • 4. “J’s Day Theme #3 (Support)”
  • 5. “In Jah Hands (Dilla’s Lament)”
  • 6. “Get Dollaz (24-7)”
  • 7. “The String (Heavy Jones)”
  • 8. “Two For Pay Jay (No Dough, No Show)”
  • 9. “No More Time? (The Change)”
  • 10. “Do You Know? (Transition)”
  • 11. “Dirty Hop (The Shuffle)”
  • 12. “Floating Soul (Peace)”
  • 13. “Infinity Sound (Never Ending)”
  • 14. “Sacrifice (Beat-A-Holic Thoughts)”
  • 15. “Rebirth Cycle (Super Soul)”
  • 16. “Rolled Peach Optimos (Call Day)”
  • 17. “The Main Inspiration (Coltrane of Beats) “
  • 18. “The Get Over (Move)”
  • 19. “Shades of Pete (Super)”
  • 20. “King Chop (Top Line)”
  • 21. “Anthenagin’ (?)”
  • 22. “Dil Cosby Interlude”
  • 23. “Dill Withers Theme”
  • 24 “First Class (The Best Catalogue)”
  • 25. “Lifetime (Lifeline)”
  • 26. “The Electric Zone (Plugged In)”
  • 27. “So Much (Music)”
  • 28. “Smoked Out (Green Blaze Subliminal Sounds)”
  • 29. “Another Bag of Bomb (No Seeds)”
  • 30. “All Love (The Movement)”
  • 31. “Detroit Playaz (Gator Walk)”
  • 32. “Blast (Computer Rock)”
  • 33. “J.B. and J.D. (Interlude)”
  • 34. “Never Front (Ears Up)”
  • 35. “Dillalade Ride (Contact High)”
  • 36. “Suffer (Concentration)”
  • 37. “Show Me The Good Life (Chip Stack)”
  • 38. “Slapped Up (Snap N’ Clap)”
  • 39. “Another Batch (Play It Again)”
  • 40. “Full Figure Pockets (Pay Jay)”
  • 41. “Smoke Interlude (Hawaiian Punch)”
  • 42. “The Sky (Beyond Sight)”
This entry was posted in News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *