DOOM’s “Born Like This”


As many of you already know, Lex Records will release DOOM’s new album Born Like This on March 24. Here’s the usual bio excerpt:

Mask-wearing hip-hop maverick DOOM (previously MF Doom) unveils his imminent new album, BORN LIKE THIS – a tour de force of thrillingly intricate and diabolically original songwriting. …

As well as head-spinningly complex, reference-rich rhymes, DOOM also provides the majority of the peerless production himself with just 2 tracks here featuring the studio skills of others. Credit for crafting the bouncies of beats on short yet sweet BALLSKIN goes to Washington’s Jake One, whilst the much-missed J Dilla’s magical psychedelic jamboree illuminates LIGHTWORKS. Guest vocalists include founding Wu Tang Clan members Ghostface and Raekwon, with the former appropriately appearing in his cartoon-inspired Tony Starks guise. BORN LIKE THIS takes its title from Charles Bukowski’s dystopian poem, ‘Dinosauria, We’, read by its author and re-scored by DOOM on CELLZ. Sharp-eared followers of the interesting end of hip-hop may recognize some of the album’s lineage – the instrumental of LIGHTWORKS is a highlight of J Dilla’s Donuts and an early demo of ANGELZ has circulated in cyberspace – however, the rest of the newborn record’s 16 tracks are 100% fresh and, until now, unheard.

  • 1. Supervillain Intro
  • 2. Gazillion Ear
  • 3. Ballskin
  • 4. Yessir! (feat. Raekwon)
  • 5. Absolutely
  • 6. Rap Ambush
  • 7. Lightworks
  • 8. Batty Boys
  • 9. Angelz (feat. Tony Starks, Raekwon & Paloma Faith)
  • 9. Cellz
  • 10. Still Dope (feat. Empress Sharhh)
  • 11. Microwave Mayo
  • 12. More Rhymin’ (feat. Kurious)
  • 13. That’s That
  • 14. Supervillainz
  • 15. Bumpy’s Message
  • 16. Thank Yah

DOOM, “Ballskin”

This entry was posted in News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *