Hudson Mohawke’s “Butter”

Hudson Mohawke_Christina Kernohan & Dom Sum

Warp Records has scheduled Hudson Mohawke’s debut album, Butter, for release on October 13 (October 12 in the UK). Dam-Funk makes an appearance, as do Nadsroic (from HudMo’s LuckyMe camp) and Olivier Daysoul. You can download a teaser MP3, “Rising 5,” from the Warp website.

Here’s a short explanation of Butter:

“The Butter idea, as well as just wanting to give the album a simple striking name, also came from my attempt at a sort of prog rock meets vintage soul meets sleazy R’n’B aesthetic – Isaac Hayes ‘hot buttered soul’. I really wanted the title to somehow emphasise the arrangements on the record, how I’ve tried to create songs as opposed to just computer driven arrangements, how the record flows. I think compared to some of my earlier production it’s smoother in some ways as well, like butter for the eardrums.”

Sounds good! Here’s the tracklisting:

  • 1. “Shower Melody”
  • 2. “Gluetooth”
  • 3. “Joy Fantastic” (feat. Olivier Daysoul)
  • 4. “3.30”
  • 5. “Trykk”
  • 6. “Fruit Touch”
  • 7. “ZOo00OOm”
  • 8. “Acoustic Lady”
  • 9. “Rising 5”
  • 10. “Twistclip Loop”
  • 11. “Just Decided” (feat. Olivier Daysoul)
  • 12. “No One Could Ever”
  • 13. “Velvet Peel”
  • 14. “Tell Me What You Want From Me” (feat. Dam-Funk)
  • 15. “FUSE”
  • 16. “Star Crackout”
  • 17. “Allhot” (feat. Nadsroic)
  • 18. “Black n Red”

Photo by Christina Kernohan and Dom Sum.

This entry was posted in News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *